Australia Day Honours 2018

29 JANUARY 2018

Congratulations to our teachers who were awarded with Australia Day Honours. You are an inspiration for your leaders.

It is wonderful to see registered teachers being recognised by one of Australia’s most prestigious awards, and it shows how much the community recognises the importance of and respects those working in the education sector.

ORDER OF AUSTRALIA MEDAL (OAM) in the General Division

  • Mr David Scott Thomson for service to education in Victoria, and to the community.


  • Mr Peter James Corkill for outstanding public service to science and mathematics education in Victoria.
    Mr Corkill's leadership and vision over a 40 year timeframe has supported schools and communities throughout Victoria to excel in the fields of science and mathematics. His work has developed the leadership and teaching capacity of staff, and enhanced learning outcomes for students and entire communities. Mr Corkill was instrumental in establishing the John Monash Science School in 2009, which continues to build the capacity of young people in rural Victoria and beyond, to study and excel in the fields of science and mathematics.
  • Mr Christopher James Joustra for outstanding public service to education in Victoria.

    Mr Joustra's leadership and sincere, considered actions have improved community engagement at Morwell Park Primary School, in particular with the local Indigenous communities. Through Mr Joustra's commitment and dedication he has been able to foster a strong level of support from families, balancing high standards for behaviour and academic achievement with an empathetic leadership style.