2019 Australian Education Awards finalists

19 JUNE 2019

The Australian Education Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of Australia’s top performing schools, principals, department heads and teachers. VIT would like to congratulate the 2019 finalists and wish them good luck in their respective categories.

Primary School Principal of the year
  • Daniel Vella, Barwon Heads Primary School
School Principal of the Year – Non-government
  • Derek Scott, Haileybury
  • David Shepherd, Ballarat Clarendon College
Department Head of the Year
  • Jason Fischer, Haileybury
  • Birgit Verhagen, The Knox School
Teacher of the Year
  • Richard Black, The Knox School
  • Phil Carew, Toorak College
  • Tony Vallance, Lilydale High School
Education Rising Star of the Year
  • Chelsea Quirk, Rowville Primary School

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Friday 16 August 2019. Click here for the full list of finalists.