New VIT council announced

3 JUNE 2019

The Governor in Council has appointed new members of the VIT Council effective from 1 June 2019.

While many of the current Council members have been reappointed, we will be welcoming some new members. VIT looks forward to forming a strong council with a good representation across all stakeholders.

2019-21 VIT council members

Lesley Lamb – Chairperson
Paul Desmond – Deputy Chairperson
Michael Butler
Gillian Carr
Peter Clifton 
Siobhan Hannan 
Danielle Harrison 
Anthony Sheumack 
Angela Stringer 
Raelene Vine 
Joanna Barbousas – new member 
Kevin Maloney – new member 
Janine Brown – new member
Sharyn Donald - new member

VIT would like to extend our thanks to the four serving members leaving the Council: Earl James, Professor Deb Corrigan, Karalynn McDonnell and Gene Reardon.

Earl James joined the Council in 2016 and was a member of the Professional Conduct Committee. His strong contribution at both Council and Committee level was highly valued, and he brought a great understanding of teachers in the independent sector.

Professor Deb Corrigan also joined the Council in 2016 and was a member of and chaired the Accreditation Committee. Deb’s understanding of initial teacher education was exceptional, and she provided great passion and knowledge to her work at VIT.

Along with Deb and Earl, Karalynn McDonnell joined the Council in 2016 and was a member of the Accreditation Committee. Karalynn brought a deep understanding of the roles of early childhood teachers, and her passion and commitment in this area was highly regarded.

Gene Reardon joined the Council in 2015, and played a key role in the important partnership between VIT and DET. Gene also made significant contributions to VIT’s involvement in Initial Teacher Education initiatives, particularly in relation to the Victorian Selection Framework.