Skip to main content

Phone lines will be down on Thursday 11 August while we move offices. Please contact us at during this time.

Queen's Birthday Honours

Appointments to the Order of Australia confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service. It demonstrates the achievements at a high level, of outstanding Australians who have made a valuable contribution to their community, over and above what may be expected.

It is wonderful to see a registered teacher being recognised by one of Australia’s most prestigious awards, and it shows how much the community acknowledges the importance of and respects those working in the education sector.

The VIT would like to congratulate the following registered teachers on being honoured during the recent Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Order of Australia Member (AM) in the General Division

Mrs Jill Healey for significant service to education through leadership and advisory roles.

Christian Schools Australia

  • Convenor, Women's Leadership programs, current
  • Former National Councillor, serving 2 terms, 2000s-2010s
  • State Chair and Councillor (Victoria), 2003-2012
  • Founder, Victoria Christian Schools Events Network (CSEN), 2007
  • Co-ordinator, Finding Up-skilling and Supporting Emerging Leaders Course, current.

Independent Schools Victoria

  • Board Member, 2009-2016
  • Inaugural Participant, Leading Learning that Matters Program, Independent Schools Victoria/Harvard Graduate School of Education, 2013-2015

Flinders Christian Community College

  • Board Member, current
  • Executive Principal, 1994-2014.

Other Education

  • Board Member, Victorian Independent Schools Block Grant Authority, since 2016
  • Director, Transforming Schools, current
  • Board Member, Beaconhills College
  • Co-ordinator, Female Leaders and Managers in Education, current
  • Former Member, Ministerial Review of Teaching and Teacher Education (Ministerial Appointment), Federal Government of Australia, 2003
  • Former Director, Australian Association of Christian Schools, 1996-2001
  • Founder, Christian Schools Sports Network
  • Board Member, Focus on the Family Australia
  • Board Member, Endeavour Ministries, The Andrews Centre, current.

Order of Australia Medal (OAM) in the General Division

Mr Brian Hanley for service to secondary education.

  • Principal, St Monica's College, Epping, since 1991
  • Former Principal, Christ the King College, Braybrook
  • Former Senior Master, St Aloysius College
  • Former Deputy Principal, Parade College.

Ms Pamela Cupper for service to education, and to the preservation of military history.

Hopetoun Secondary College

  • Assistant Principal, 2010-2015
  • Teacher, 1976-1979

Horsham High School

  • Leading Teacher, 1999-2008
  • Teacher, 1983-2010

 Publications include:

  • Authored chapters in a range of humanities textbooks
  • Co-Author, Gallipoli: A Battlefield Guide, Kangaroo Press, 1989
  • Co-author, ANZAC, McGraw-Hill, 2003.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Fernando Ianni for outstanding public service to secondary education in Victoria.

Mr Fernando Ianni has shown outstanding dedication to improving student outcomes at Roxburgh Secondary College in his role as Principal and respected community leader.

He demonstrates an unswerving commitment to equity, excellence and inclusion. He supports and challenges staff to see the best in, and to achieve the best for, all students in the culturally and linguistically diverse community of Roxburgh.

He has been at the forefront of ground-breaking initiatives to reduce the impact of disadvantage on potential achievement. This includes the development of an alternative setting, the Gateway, which re-engages students, including many known to the youth justice system, into education.

Mr Ianni's passion for education and to the development of personal growth of students he is responsible for is exemplary.