Skip to main content

Approved curriculum is defined as curriculum taught in settings requiring registration – early childhood education, primary, secondary, special education.

Early childhood education

  • Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework
  • Early Years Learning Framework.

School foundation – year 10

  • Victorian Curriculum
  • International Baccalaureate.

School years 11-12

  • Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE)
  • Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL) or Vocational Education and Training (VET) (alternatives to VCE which are offered by some secondary schools and some TAFE institutions and Registered Training Organisations); School Based Apprenticeships and Traineeships (SBAT) (are available to students over 15 years)
  • International Baccalaureate (IB).

An approved curriculum may also include

  • any other curriculum or program approved by the Victorian Curriculum Assessment Authority (VCAA) or Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA), which is to be delivered in Victorian schools
  • any element, in a non-government school approved as the compulsory educational program that is not otherwise included by the above programs
  • an overseas curriculum delivered at a school registered with the VRQA as a ‘Specific Purpose’ school (the Japanese School of Melbourne is an example)
  • a program that is comparable to an Australian Year 12 course as recognised by an Australian legislative framework (e.g. Monash University Foundation Year).