Skip to main content

The VIT office will close at 12pm on Thursday 7 December and re-open at 9am on Friday 8 December.

Australia Day Honours 2022

Congratulations to Victorian teachers and educational leaders who were awarded with Australia Day Honours. Thank you for your contribution, you are an inspiration for your students and the community.

It is wonderful to see registered teachers being recognised by one of Australia’s most prestigious awards, and it shows how much the community recognises the importance of and respects those working in the education sector.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Ms Elisabeth Claire Lenders for service to education.

Centre for Strategic Education (formerly Incorporated Association of Registered Teachers of Victoria)

  • President, since 2010

 Kingswood College

  • Principal, since 2011

 Carey Baptist Grammar School

  • Deputy Principal, 2006-2010
  • Head of Middle School, 2003-2005
  • Deputy Head, 1998-2002

 Education Other

  • Honorary Secretary, Eastern Independent Schools of Melbourne (EISM), since 2013
  • Head of English, Billanook College, 1993-1997
  • English and Special Education Teacher, Ivanhoe Grammar School, 1987-1992
  • English and Geography Teacher, Trinity Grammar School, 1985-1986

Awards and recognition include

  • John Laing Professional Development Award, Principals Australia Institute, 2017.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Mr David Shepherd for service to secondary education.

Professional: Education

  • Principal, Ballarat Clarendon College, since 1997
  • Former Deputy Principal, Scotch College, Adelaide
  • Deputy Head and Coordinator, Middle School, Cato Campus, Elsternwick, 1989
  • Mathematics Teacher, Wesley College, 1981.

 Other: Education

  • Member, Victorian Branch, Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia.


  • Former Supporter, Ballarat Foundation
  • Former Supporter, Ballarat International Foto Biennale.

 Awards and recognition includes

  • Non-Government Secondary School of the Year, Australian Education Awards, 2019
  • John Laing Professional Development Award, Principals Australia Institute, 2012
  • Senior Educator of the Year, Australian College of Educators, 2010.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

Mr Vincent Branigan for service to the community of Benalla.

Tomorrow Today

  • Connect9 Mentor, since circa 2015

 Benalla Festival

  • Member, Organising Committee, since 2012

St Vincent de Paul Society, Benalla Conference

  • President, 4 years
  • Member, 2009-2016

Benalla Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club

  • President, 1996-2008
  • Secretary, 2010-2013
  • Life Member, 2009.


  • Teacher, Greater Shepparton Secondary College, 2020
  • Teacher, McGuire College Shepparton 2018 and 2019
  • Teacher, Euroa Secondary College, 2016-2017
  • Teacher, FCJ College, Benalla 2007 - 2015
  • Teacher, Benalla College, 1994-2008
  • Teacher, Benalla Technical School, 1993
  • Teacher, Echuca Technical School, 1980-1992
  • Teacher, Swan Hill Technical School, 1979 

Awards and Recognition include

  • Citizen of the Year, Benalla Rural City, 2017
  • Teacher Who Matters, Victorian Institute of Teaching, 2011

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Terence George Bennett for outstanding public service to education in Victoria.

Mr Terence Bennett has during a career of more than 50 years shown outstanding leadership and excellence in the Victorian education system as a secondary teacher, assistant principal, executive principal and regional director. He currently serves as Regional Director, North Eastern Victoria Region at the Department of Education and Training. 

Mr Bennett has championed the role of education as a means to improve outcomes to the lives of children and young people regardless of background. Throughout his exemplary career, he has made an indelible impact on the lives of countless students, their families and their communities.

With a strong commitment to making a difference, and with the knowledge that a high-quality education can only be achieved through the teaching staff, he has worked tirelessly to mentor and develop educators for leadership positions in schools.

Mr Bennett has created a positive and lasting legacy in the Victorian education system.

Public Service Medal (PSM)

Mr Colin James Dobson for outstanding public service to education in Victoria.

Mr Colin Dobson has demonstrated exemplary leadership as an educator, director and principal in Victoria for over 32 years.

Mr Dobson has been at the forefront of ground-breaking initiatives in education and was instrumental in introducing the International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme to schools within Victoria and Australia.

His belief that all students have the right to an outstanding education has been apparent in every setting he has led, including in his current role as the inaugural Principal of the innovative Monash Children's Hospital School.

Mr Dobson personally took responsibility for recruiting teaching staff, developing policies and curriculum, initiating infrastructure, establishing relationships with local schools and hospital schools internationally, and innovating on a global scale in this important field of education.

The growth and effective operation of the school under Mr Dobson's stewardship has ensured positive outcomes for some of Victoria's most vulnerable students and their families.

Was this webpage helpful?
Why not?