Skip to main content

2021 Victorian Early Years Awards are now open

Seven award categories in the 2021 Victorian Early Years Awards

The Victorian Early Years Awards (VEYA) celebrate leadership, outstanding achievement, exceptional dedication and innovation in improving outcomes for children aged birth to eight years and their families.

Winners are recognised as the best in Victoria for their category and go on to develop and share their inspiring work with their communities and will win grants of up to $15,000 to support their nominated activity or professional development.

The seven award categories focus on improving engagement in learning, supporting parents, building collaborative community partnerships, improving child health and wellbeing, exemplary practice in early childhood education, leadership and significant service improvement.

The finalists in each category are also eligible to win the prestigious Minister’s Award, selected by the Minister for Early Childhood.

Award categories

There are seven award categories in the 2021 Victorian Early Years Awards

  • Improving Access and Participation in Early Learning
  • Supporting Parents to Build Their Capacity and Confidence
  • Creating Collaborative Community Partnerships
  • Promoting Children’s Health and Wellbeingv
  • Continuity of Early Learning
  • Early Childhood Teacher of the Year
  • The Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler Excellence in Educational Leadership Award

The Minister’s Award

This is awarded by the Minister for Education from the pool of finalists for an application that demonstrates exemplary practice and exceptional achievement in improving outcomes for young children.

Start your nomination
VEYA information pack
VEYA terms and conditions
Download a poster

Key dates

Nominations open - Monday 3 May 2021
Nominations close - Monday 14 June 2021 11.59pm
Judging commences 29 June 2021
Finalists announced - Week commencing 31 August 2021
Award presentation - Wednesday 10 November 2021
Further information is available on the VEYA website
Read more about the 2020 winners