Skip to main content

The VIT office will close at 12pm on Thursday 7 December and re-open at 9am on Friday 8 December.

Australia Day Honours 2023

Congratulations to the outstanding Victorian teachers and educational leaders who have been recognised in the 2023 Australia Day Honours list. 

It is wonderful to see registered teachers being recognised by one of Australia’s most prestigious awards, and it shows how much the community recognises the importance of and respects those working in the education sector. 

Thank you for your contribution, you are an inspiration for students and colleagues across the State and their communities.

Member (AM) in the general division of the order of Australia

Mrs Margaret Maddern Webb (OAM) for significant service to education governance, to Indigenous students, and as a mentor.

The Outdoor Education Group (OEG)

  • Director, OEG Foundation, since 2020
  • Chair, OEG Board, 2013-2020
  • Director, OEG Board, 2010-2013 and 2000-2005

The Mac.Robertson Girls High School

  • Vice-Chair, The Mac.Rob Foundation Limited, since 2016
  • Board Member, School Council, 2010-2018
  • President, Palladians Association, 2010-2018

Melbourne Indigenous Transition School

  • Foundation Director, since 2009
  • Chair, Education Committee, since 201
  • Volunteer Teacher, 2016-2017
  • Member, Nominations Committee

Kingswood College

  • Board Member, School Council, since 2016
  • Chair, Principal's Review and Support Committee, current
  • Chair,Child Safe Committee, current
  • Member, Learning and Wellbeing Sub-Committee, current
  • Member, Innovation and Governance Sub-Committee, 2016-2017


  • Director, Margaret Webb Consultancy, since 2009
  • Consultant, Development of the Jabiru Masterplan, 2016-2019
  • Director, Lyceum Club, 2017-2019
  • Mentor, since 2008

Awards and Recognition include

  • Medal of the Order of Australia, 2007.

Member (AM) in the general division of the order of Australia

Dr Marcia Devlin (AM) for significant service to higher education, and to women.


  • Chief Executive Officer, Victorian Academy of Teaching and Leadership, since 2021.
  • Board Member, Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority, 2018-2021 and Chair, Senior Secondary Reform Committee, 2020-2021.
  • Advisory Board member, National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education, Curtin University, 2019-2021.
  • Co-Chair, Executive Women Comittee, Universities Australia, 2016-2018.
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Learning and Quality, Federation University Australia, 2014-
  • 2017.

Victoria University

  • Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, 2018-2020.
  • Deputy Chair, Gender Equity Committee.
  • Adjunct Professor, since 2020.

Board Member

  • Non-Executive Director, Melbourne Polytechnic, and Chair, Education Quality Committee, since 2021.
  • Appointee, Inaugural International Panel, National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning, Ireland, 2015.
  • Specialist/Accreditation Panel Member, Hong Kong Council for the Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications, since 2015.


  • Author and co-author, over 320 research reports, commissioned research publications, book chapters, journal and media articles.
  • Goggle Scholar, h-index of 36.
  • Appointed Lifetime Fellow of the Society for Research into Higher Education.
  • Author, Beating the Odds: A Practical Guide to navigating sexism in Australian universities, 2021.


  • Trust Member, Queen Victoria Women's Centre, since 2021.
  • Non-Executive Director, Australian Overseas Foundation. until 2017.

Awards and Recognition include

  • National Leadership Award, Women's Agenda, 2016.
  • Australian Institute of Management: Leader/Manager of the Year, Victoria, 2016
  • Finalist, Telstra Business Women's Awards, 2016.
  • Finalist, Australian Career Book Award, Royal Society of Arts, Oceania, 2021.

Medal (OAM) of the order of Australia in the General Division

Mr Phil De Young for service to independent school education.


  • Principal, Trinity Grammar School, 2018-2019
  • Principal, Carey Baptist Grammar School, 2002 - 2009
  • Head of Campus, Caulfield Grammar School, 1996- 2002
  • Economics and Politics Teacher, and Head of Senior School, Wesley College, 1977- 1995
  • Teacher, Economics and Politics, Mentone Grammar School, 1975-1976

Business and Financial Services

  • Former Chairman, Claims Funding Australia
  • Former Member, Investment Committee, VincentCare
  • Former Member, Stakeholder Council, Australia Post, 2015-2016
  • Inaugural Chief Executive Officer, Evans and Partners, 2011-2012
  • Director, Wilson Dilworth Limited, 1998-2001

Monash Blues Football Club

  • President, six years
  • Former Player and Umpire
  • Life Member
  • Club Member, since 1965


  • Former Member, Victorian Principals Association
  • Former Spokesperson and Director, Cathy Freeman Foundation.

Medal (OAM) of the order of Australia In the General Division

Mrs Elaine Therese Murphy for service to education, and to the arts.

Swan Hill Primary School, Department of Education and Training Victoria

  • Assistant Principal - Welfare, 2009-2011
  • Teacher, Junior, Middle, and Senior Sections, 1980-2009
  • Past Choir Conductor

Department of Education and Training Victoria

  • Teacher, Swan Hill North Primary School, 1978-1979
  • Officer, Music Branch, Central Office, 1976-1977
  • Teacher, Birchip Primary School, 1973-1975

Swan Hill Theatre Group

  • Treasurer, 2004-2009
  • Member, Board of Directors, 2003-2009
  • Musical Director and Player/Actor, c1980s-2011
  • Life Member, since 2009
  • Supporter, current

Swan Hill district

  • Past Member, Pianist and Organiser, Swan Hill Eisteddfod Committee
  • Past Pianist and Organiser, Kerang Eisteddfod
  • Teacher and Life Member, Swan Hill Highland Dancing Group
  • Past Organist, St Mary's Catholic Church, Swan Hill

Theatre - Other

  • Member, Mount Players Theatre Group, Macedon, since 2011
  • Member, Kyneton Theatre Company, since 2011.

Medal (OAM) of the order of Australia In the General Division

The late Reverend Roger Grant Williams for service to secondary education.


  • Chaplain, Mentone Grammar School, 1998-2014
  • Chaplain, Melbourne Grammar School, 1983-1997
  • Chaplain, Sandringham Secondary College, 1979-1982


  • Coordinator, Kokoda Track student experiences, Papua New Guinea, 1984-2019.
Was this webpage helpful?
Why not?