Finalists of the 2019 Victorian Early Years Awards


Victorian Minister for Education James Merlino has announced the finalists for the Victorian Early Years Award. The finalists for the Early Childhood Teacher of the Year category have demonstrated evidence-based innovation and exemplary practice in early childhood education and care, and made a significant contribution to the development and delivery of high quality education programs and/or achieved significant improvements in children's learning and development outcomes.

Congratulations to the following two teachers who made the finals.

Leanne Mits - Pope Road Kindergarten, Blackburn

Leanne is dedicated to providing children with a rich and rewarding educational experience. Her practice combines current teaching skills with broader thinking of what early childhood education means and the importance of children's formative years.

Leanne believes strongly in connecting children with the history, culture and stories of Aboriginal and Torres Strait islander people and has led the development of the kindergarten's Reconciliation Action plan.

Sarah Hubbard - Robyn Jane Children's Centre

Sarah believes in implementing innovative programs that inspire and excite children and connect them with nature and the broader community. She views the environment as an integral part of a child's learning journey and believe this extends beyond the four walls of the classroom. She has led the kindergarten's adoption of the "bush kinder program and is currently collaborating with the children in the creation of the community garden.

Sarah has helped in creating a smooth transition to school by building connections with the local schools and inviting prep teachers to visit the kindergarten.

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony Tuesday 22 October 2019 at the National Gallery of Victoria.

For more information on the awards and to view the other categories click here