Winners of the Australian Education Awards 2019


The Australian Education Awards is a leading independent awards event for the education profession. It celebrates the outstanding achievements of the country’s top performing schools, principals, department heads and teachers.

Over 500 education leaders attended the awards in Sydney on Friday 16 August to celebrate the 24 awards handed out to the best principals, teachers, heads of department, and schools on the night.

VIT would like to congratulate the following Victorian winners.

Teachers Mutual Bank Teacher of the Year
  • Winner: Tony Vallance, Lilydale High School
Department Head of the Year
  • Winner: Jason Fischer, Haileybury
JB Hi-Fi Solutions School Principal of the Year - non government
  • Winner: Derek Scott, Haileybury
Microsoft Education Australian Principal of the Year
  • Winner: Derek Scott, Haileybury

For further information on the winners and other award categories click here.