Resources and seminar information

PRT seminars 

Each year VIT delivers seminars to provide you with information that will assist you to move from provisional to full registration including:

  • the requirements of gaining full registration
  • the evidence-based process using the Inquiry approach 
  • how to access resources for completing evidence of professional practice.

2019 seminar dates

In 2019, twilight seminars to support PRTs will be held from March to October, at various locations throughout Victoria and online.

Face to face seminars run from 3.30pm to 6.30pm. Registration commences from 3.30pm.

Online seminars run from 4pm to 5pm.

Date Location Venue
Monday 18 March Wheelers Hill Mulgrave Country Club
Corner Jells & Wellington Roads, Wheelers Hill              
Thursday 28 March Point Cook Sanctuary Lakes Function Centre
70 Greg Norman Drive, Point Cook
Monday 29 April Bendigo All Seasons Resort Hotel
171 – 183 McIvor Road, Bendigo

Wednesday 1 May

Sandringham Sandringham Yacht Club
Jetty Road, Sandringham

Map and car parking PDF, 293.25 KB
Monday 6 May Online CRT PRT
Thursday 9 May Echuca Mercure Port of Echuca
465 High Street, Echuca
Thursday 9 May South Morang Plenty Ranges Arts & Convention Centre
35 Ferres Boulevard, South Morang

Monday 13 May

Online PRT
Tuesday 14 May Wodonga Huon Hill
48 Reid Street, Wodonga

Thursday 16 May

Box Hill

Box Hill Golf Club
202 Station Street, Box Hill

Map and car parking PDF, 715.07 KB

 Tuesday 21 May

Geelong Geelong Football Club
Simonds Stadium, Kardinia Park, Geelong

Map and car parking PDF, 485.37 KB
Thursday 23 May Moonee Ponds Moonee Valley Racing Club
McPherson Street, Moonee Ponds

Tuesday 28 May

Warrnambool Lady Bay Resort
2 Pertobe Road, Warrnambool
Wednesday 29 May Swan Hill Ibis Styles Swan Hill
405-415 Campbell St, Swan Hill

Tuesday 4 June

Traralgon Century Inn
5 Airfield Road, Princes Highway, Traralgon
Tuesday 11 June Pakenham Cardinia Cultural Centre
Lakeside Boulevard, Pakenham
Wednesday 12 June Ballarat Sovereign Park Motor Inn
217-229 Main Road, Ballarat
Monday 17 June Ringwood Karralyka Centre
Mines Road, Ringwood East
Tuesday 18 June Lilydale York On Lilydale Resort
Corner York & Swansea Roads, Mount Evelyn
Thursday 20 June Online PRT
Tuesday 25 June Online CRT PRT
Wednesday 26 June Lower Plenty Heidelberg Golf Club
8 Main Road, Lower Plenty
 TERM 3 
Date Location Venue
Thursday 18 July Online PRT
Tuesday 30 July Darebin Melbourne Polytechnic
77 St Georges Road, Preston
Thursday 8 August Carrum Downs Sandhurst Club
75 Clubhouse Lane, Sandhurst
Thursday 15 August Online PRT
Thursday 29 August Online PRT
Tuesday 3 September Online CRT PRT
Wednesday 11 September Online PRT
Thursday 10 October Online PR

show more

How to register for a seminar

Seminar bookings will open on Monday 4 February 2019.

Resources

Australian professional standards for teachers (APST) PDF, 382.48 KB

Supporting provisionally registered teachers guide PDF, 4507.9 KB

Companion guide for PRT CRTs PDF, 2515.64 KB

PRT seminar presentation  PDF, 5367.89 KB

Adobe Connect Visual Quick Start Guide PDF, 730.86 KB

Other resources

Examples of evidence

Please note, after 30 June 2018, all applications for (full) registration will need to include evidence of competence in relation to Child safety and welfare (Part 2C) and Maintaining appropriate relationships (Part 4B). The below examples will not include evidence of these new requirements.

Videos / podcasts

  In this podcast, eight school teachers talk about the Inquiry Process.
  In this podcast, an early childhood teacher talks about the Inquiry Process.
  Watch this video to see an early childhood teacher present her evidence to a workplace panel.
  Watch this video for tips specific to early childhood teachers on the Inquiry Process.
 

In a series of short videos, we break down the process of moving from PRT to (full) registration for you. 

You can also watch a teacher with over 30 years’ experience, answer frequently asked questions.

If you are an early childhood teacher

Six Illustrations of Practice have been created that offer examples of how you might apply the evidence-based inquiry approach in a kindergarten setting. The Illustrations are a great tool for early childhood teachers and have been produced by a collaboration between VIT and the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL).